Tagged: Bhutan

Bhutan, a landlocked country situated in the Eastern Himalayas, operates as a constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary democracy. The capital and largest city is Thimphu. Bhutan is known for its unique approach to development, emphasizing Gross National Happiness (GNH) over Gross Domestic Product (GDP). The political landscape is characterized by a two-party system, with the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and the Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) being the major political parties. Bhutan’s monarchy plays a significant role in the country’s governance, and the fourth King, Jigme Singye Wangchuck, introduced democratic reforms in 2008, transitioning to a constitutional monarchy with the establishment of a parliamentary system. The National Assembly (Tshogdu) and the National Council (Gyalum Chenmo) form the bicameral Parliament, and elections are held every five years. Bhutan has maintained a commitment to environmental conservation, cultural preservation, and sustainable development, with policies limiting tourism and promoting renewable energy. Challenges include economic diversification, youth unemployment, and the ongoing task of balancing modernization with the preservation of Bhutan’s unique cultural and environmental heritage. political and economic landscapes can evolve, so it is advisable to consult more recent sources for the latest information on Bhutan’s country overview and political dynamics beyond that date. HOMEAGERLY: Features democracy and rights of Bhutan.

Bhutan Population 2014

Bhutan 2014

Bhutan is incompletely explored and for the most part not yet topographically surveyed. The first Europeans to enter it were the Portuguese Jesuits Cacella and Cabral, in 1627, from Cooch Behar, on the northern...